Windows 8.1 Monitor Calibration

I know this looks like a Microsoft or hardware maker issue. However, I am new to both Windows, my computer and Harmony, and seem to be in a box canyon. When I calibrate a second monitor for use with Harmony, the calibrated settings are not maintained after the computer is restarted. The correct setting are actually in place when I first reboot, but then the old, incorrect setting take over after a few seconds of logging in. No combination of saving or applying that I have tried seems to help. I was in live chat last night with Microsoft at midnight - not fixed. I have another session scheduled tomorrow with level 2 support.

I have persistence turned off for the onboard Intel graphics card, so the Nvidia card is suppose to be able to take over (from Nvidia user forums). It doesn’t help here.

I’d like to know what other Toonboom users are doing, since your perceptions are going to be specifically refined for needs like mine. My drivers are up to date as best they can be. I am using a Nvidia performance management app to keep the driver updated. There is a disclaimer that it is best to get drivers formatted by the computer maker. That is not possible.

My new computer maker Asus is providing tech support that is, by their own admission, for machines two years out of date. The video drivers they code with the correct machine ID only go up to Windows 8.0 (2012) - nothing for 8.1 (2013-14). Nothing they recommend works. I’m just glad it has not trashed my machine.

Eberhard Werle, the author of Quick Gamma monitor calibration, has perfectly described my problem. He identifies the problem in a way that I call ‘LUT loading roulette’. Which ever app loads the LUT settings last - wins. This is a years old problem with Windows. Oh well, at least I don’t feel so alone anymore.

http://www.quickgamma.de/indexen.html