What's the best practice for multiple lip-sync in a project?

Hi,

What would be the best practice to lip-sync multiple character voices in one project, also with regard to different sets of mouth shapes? I would very much appreciate to find out about the most effective way to do so. Any other tips on lip-syncing are welcome!

Thanks,

Marie-Julie

Thanks, Lilly, I tried, and it works really well! Marie-Julie

Hey,I’m trying to do the same thing, but I’ve got stuck. I’m new to this… :)Lilly - you say “Map the lip sync to each of the drawing layers”. How do you sync to more than 1 drawing layer??Thanks!Ben

Ahh… I see.Lilly - you’re a great source of knowledge! Thanks for sharing/helping!Ben

Lily -An even more basic question from a beginning beginner… When you have multiple characters, each with their own lip patterns and sound files, how do you label the sound, element and 8 lip patterns. The auto lip sync seems to require mouth elements to be labeled ‘mouth’ and the 8 lip patterns 'A,B,C…etc. OK for one character, but what do I do for the second? I can’t use the same element name or lip file names (lips drawn in Photoshop and saved as PSD’s.

Thanks for the clarification. I read the ToonBoom doc’s and watched the Youtube videos and it just wasn’t sinking in. As soon as I read your posting I could see where I was going wrong :-\I don’t know why, but TBS keeps crashing. To make matters worse, when I do ‘File Saves’, they aren’t current. By that I mean, what TBS is writing to disk is an old version of my drawing, not what’s current. Since I’ve had the problem with TBS crashing I’ve made a point of ‘Saving’ every 10 minutes or so under sequential file names. After a crash, when I go back to my latest Save file, it is how my drawing looked hours previously. My only option now is to start over from scratch and see what happens.