Traditional Paperless Animation with Essentials

Out of curiosity, could one be able to make paperless frame by frame animation with Toon Boom Essentials? (Some people have suggested that Advanced is a better choice for animation.)

I’ll might just get an annual subscription, just to be on the safe side. Though I want to ask about the “Bitmap Brushes” and "Pressure Sensitivity’ things you mentioned. Would those things have any importance to making frame by frame animation? (I’m still new to this whole thing.)

Could bitmap brushes be used to create, say for example, a rough version of a sketch or animation?

As for pencil pressure sensitivity, I don’t really know what you mean. Would that mean I wouldn’t be able to make custom pencil strokes? Or is that have something to do with using a graphics tablet?

You could but there are a number of features facilitating the process which are not included in Essentials. If you can swing it get at least Advanced.

I might, but at the time of writing this I don’t really have the funds for the software yet. Plus I am still at a crossroads with how I should purchase it. (Either annual or permanent license.)

To be honest, I just want to have the best strategy before I dive in head first into this software. I don’t know if I should go with the basics or the middle child on this one. (Not going ANYWHERE near Premium in any capacity.)

My idea was that I’ll get a permanent license and just go with that. What do you think?

With Essentials, you don’t have bitmap brushes, only vector, and the pencil has no pressure sensitivity, only the brush. You also miss advanced tools, such as shift and trace, so you’ll get only the basic onion skin features. But then, it’s quite cheap by comparison with the other editions.
This comparison chart is plainer and less detailed with each version, it gives you a general idea: https://www.toonboom.com/products/harmony/try