Total newbie simple question - please help

I feel so dumb for asking this, but how do I make each frame of a drawing “independent” from which it was copied? For example, I create a short cycle but I want the next cycle to be independent from the first one, so that I can make changes. So far, if I copy and paste a frame or frames, it is still techincally the same one, so a change to one will also affect the other "copy."

Thank you.

Some basic terminology help: A frame is not a drawing, a drawing is a cell. There us only one instance of a specific frame in a timeline IE only one frame number 5 or frame number 7 etc. The layers used to composite frames are called elements. Each element can contain one or more cells (drawings). Each drawing or cell is uniquely named. A cell can be assigned to one or more frames and each frame assignment is called an exposure. If you copy and paste a specific cell you are just assigning it to an additional frame exposure. If you “duplicate” a cell then that duplicate is given a unique name and is a totally independent drawing and can be modified with out effecting the original cell from which you made the duplicate. You can learn more about duplicating cells on this page of the Cartooning in Toon Boom WIKI. -JK

COPYing, PASTING, AND DUPLICATING

Thanks for helping to explain the terminology. Sorry about my ignorance. I read your link but I’m still a little confused on how I would copy a series of cells. The “add exposure” and “duplicate” seems to only duplicate one cell, not all the ones I highlighted. I’m sure I’m overlooking something really simple.

OK, that’s a great question. Here is one technique to accomplish your objective. It is more than a newbie exercise so you will have to use the TBS library management system. If you need a primer on libraries read these:

LIBRARY

TEMPLATES

The short version is that a template is used to make a copy of art work for reuse.

In your situation you would follow these steps: