Toon Boom or Illustrator or Flash or....

Hi everybody!

I am a newbie in digital illustration and animation. Could someone advice me on what software would be the best for making some illustrations (that could be used for children books and similar) and also for using this illustrations step further to make some simple cut out or frame to frame animations/cartoons.

Another thing- can Toon boom (studio or animate or some other version) be used for illustration, maybe instead of Adobe illustrator? Is it posssible that Adobe Flash, Illustrator and After Effects at some basic level do the same thing as Toon Boom ? Are the differences felt mostly bey professionals who do some hi-polished animations or illustrations?

For the last 7 days I have been reading numerous articles and reviews but I am still confused and beginning to be half crazy.

Thank you all in advance and sorry if someting that I wrote is silly. :slight_smile:

I guess it depends on your illustrations.

Why not give Animate the free test drive with the PLE edition which is free to try with.

Animate clearly shines when animation is involved but I have seen Adam phillips create amazing illustrations with it.

I have been trying it out. TB is great, no doubt about it, and video resources on this site are wonderful.

"I guess it depends on your illustrations."

Could you please explain this a little bit more? What kind of illustrations would I want to do rather in Illustrator then in ToonB?

found some reviews and comparisons…

http://www.toonboomreview.com/toon-boom-vs-flash/

Well toonboom is more about vector lines. If you want want rough realistic pencil type illustrations that is harder to do (although harmony has textured brushes). That said you can do a lot in Animate and I would always draw in it, not a third party program.

Thanks for the info!
I wouldnt draw realistic so vector is just fine.