Toon Boom Harmony Premiun 2021: Tools Not Operational

Hi!

I am a beginner to Toon Boom Harmony. In fact, when I created a new scene, I am able to grab tools from the toolbar on the left, though the problem is whenever I draw a line, for instance, that line disappears after I let go of the mouse, and the similar problem applies for every tool, such as the text box. I would like to let you all know that I have not touched anything else (it is at default settings).

I hope I am describing this problem properly, and I look forward to any advice and support offered by you all.

Thanks!

OS version you are on would be nice to know? Are you using Harmony 21.1? Where are you saving your project folder, do you have read/write access?

Hi!

I am using Windows 10 Home and I believe I am using the 21.1 version of the software. I have saved my sample project in my “Documents” folder. How can I check if I have enabled read/write access on this software?

Please let me know if you would like for me to send pictures of the problem (if it would help).

I have heard of the issue before but not seen a reply to a fix/solved for it. So I’m just going off the top of my head with ideas to try out.

When I asked about read/write access it was to see if you were saving in an odd location but the Documents folder should be fine.

Are you using a desktop or laptop, what type of GPU (video card) does it have?

With Harmony closed try deleting the Layout and Preferences folders in this location.
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Toon Boom Animation\Toon Boom Harmony Premium\
On Windows, the AppData folder is hidden. To display it in Explorer, in the top menu, open the View pane and check the Hidden Items checkbox.
Then open Harmony make a new project and test out drawing.

Hi,

If it helps, I am using a Dell XPS 15 7590 (a laptop), and the GPU that I believe the laptop has is a Nvidia (GeForce) - I don’t know the exact type as of yet.