strange bone makeup

I’m still an Animate Pro newbie. The picture shows the view I get when I click the IK tool. All the bones seem to end in a point ourtside the figure ???. Does anybody recognize what I did wrong? http://www.banjo-tabs.com/misc/IK_error.JPG
Thanks!!

Hi hansR

What exact has happened to your rig is that you have turned on inverse kinematic. That will auto rig your puppet for inverse kinematic animation. But for that to work you will have to arrange the parts of the puppet in a hierarchy.
So before pressing the Inverse kinematic button you will have to rig the puppet and set the pivot points for each part.

How to do that is described in the video tutorials.
You should go through all, it’s a great pleasure. They are really very instructive. Here is a link to one of them.

http://beta.toonboom.com/professionals/animating/resources/video-tutorials/inverse-kinematics

Best regards
Ivar

Thanks, Ivar, but I was stumped because I DID rig it and set the pivot points. But now I realize that I changed the figure with added drawing layers and forgot to apply the pivots in the drawing layers to the peg layers by means of the respective script. I’ll do that when I get back to work next week.

One other thing … I noticed that when I select the pivot tool and select a peg layer, sometimes a small red-green-blue cube appears in the center of the camera view (which is where the bones now end), sometimes in the correct place on the figure. But sometimes it is not a cube, but a small yellow circle with a red ‘x’. I have found no reference in the user guide as to what these symbols mean, but frankly, I don’t know how to look them up in the guide.

Any help is appreciated!
Hans

Here’s an update. I applied the embed pivots to parent pegs script again, and unfortunately, that didn’t help any. It seems this script doesn’t work for peg layers that are drawing layers.

Still no answer as to what the two described ‘mystery’ symbols mean?