Starting Animation on Frame 00 vs Frame 01

Hi! On our animation production, we’re going between Adobe Premiere, Shotgun Studios, and Toonboom Harmony. However, it seems that both Premiere and Shotgun work from a “first frame is frame 00” basis, but Toomboom starts on frame 01.

When reviewing the animation in Shotgun, or editing /exporting animatic clips and compositing in post, the numbers fluctuate with our timecode.

Is there any way in TB’s preferences to count frame 01 as frame 00?

Thanks in advance!

Harmony does not have a frame 0 in it’s timeline so this
isn’t really possible. A potential solution might be to
make a script outside of Harmony that renumbers
files inside a folder to take the numbers and add -1
to the numbering of the exported frames’ filenames.

Hey, rkriz,

I’m new to all this - and this situation is likely to arise for me as well. When you suggest a script, do you mean something at the OS level? And for Windows, any suggestions?

Also (and this is for anyone reading), would a possible work-around be a dummy frame 00 file to precede the Harmony frames (to be edited out later)?

-Morf

Windows doesn’t have very good scripting capabilities so
you would need to do it in Pearl or Python or some other
3rd party scripting language.

If the issue can be solved using a dummy frame 000 file
then that would be a simpler solution but wouldn’t that
throw the movie off? One 24th of a second is not much
but check with everyone involved in the process to make
sure it’s not causing a problem for someone down the
road.