sound quality issue

Hi all
I Know this is the wrong topic area but getting no luck in the sound topic forum with this -
I seem to have a slight problem with the sound quality when i record my voice using my microphone - I have a C-Media AC97 sound card (not great i grant you)installed on the pc and the microphone is a cheap sony job.
The quality of playback is hissy and low (i have tried configuring the sound through the audio settings) but to no avail.

The problem is that when i try to incorporate a music track into the background the dialogue is barely audible.
Can anyone give me tips as to what they are using to record vocals - im willing to spend a bit of money on new hardware if its going to eliviate the problem …
I have downloaded and installed Audacity which seems to be a great little program but i still have a hiss in the bg

thanks in advance
Brian ;D

Hi Brian,

As far as animation is concerned, I am a newbie like you. But I do have some experience in the field of audio recording, so I’ll try to do my best to give you a short overview of what you have to know and can do:

First of all, the quality of your recorded audio depends on every part of the signal chain it has to go through: voice, microphone, soundcard, software. Cheap components have a tendency to produce more noise (like the hiss you describe) than state-of-the-art products.

Second, whether you are using a condenser microphone or a dynamic one, in most cases a microphone signal has to be pre-amplified to get enough gain. This is what a pre-amplifier does (condenser microphones additionally need phantom power of 48V, which usually is also supplied by the amp; dynamics don’t; but condenser mikes mostly sound better and clearer on vocals than dynamic).

Next, you have to take into account the resolution of your sound card. Normally, 16 Bit should be enough (this is the resolution of an audio cd).