Slight Delay in Brush Strokes Appearing

Hi,

I’ve been using Toon Boom Studio 4 for several months now, with a Wacom Intuos tablet (the small one). I have a relatively new macbook (the black one, purchased last February).

I have found that when doing my rough sketches, after a while my computer starts revving up and the brush strokes don’t appear on the screen until a fraction of a second after I have drawn them. This is quite annoying and is not only impacting the time it takes to do a sketch, but is also compromising the quality of my drawings as well, as I’m sure you can imagine.

Is this a common problem? I’m not sure if this is the same issue that people on here have been referring to as “pressure sensitivity” problems. When I do my good-copy inking, there is rarely any delay and the thickness of the lines does change in accordance with pressure on the pen. Is there some setting that I can change, either with the Wacom tablet or in Toon Boom, that will prevent this revving up and delayed appearance of my brush strokes? Or is this just a common reaction of drawing many, quick strokes at once, as one does when sketching? The revving up and delayed reaction only starts to happen after I’ve been working for ten minutes or so. Something we just have to deal with?

Appreciate any advice.

Cheers.

DanB.

A possible suggestion is to be sure that the pen definition that you are using for your rough sketching does not have smoothing set above 1. A higher smoothing setting will slow down processing when you are making many quick strokes. You also might want to try toggling draw top layer on and off to see which setting works best. Beyond that you can try reducing the difference between your min and max setting numbers to see if that helps. Just some quick things to try. -JK

Hi JK,

Thanks for your reply and advice.

Actually, my settings have been based on the advice you posted on this