scrolling the background

I would like to animate a character riding a bike, so the character staying in the middle and the background scrolls behind him. What is a good way to do this do the background doesnt have to be an eight foot drawing of houses on the street?

If it were me I’d use the long scroll method. But, if you don’t want
that you could try a background that’s say 2x the width of your camera
view and when it reaches the end (via scrolling)on say frame 100, you
could move it back to it’s original start location on frame 101 and it would
continue all over again. Then just cycle that.

But that’s just me, I’m a completely green when it comes to animation.
Hope it helps though!

okay, now I’ve looked everywhere I can think of and I cant find instruction on how to make my background scroll. Do I use the Motion Tool?
Adam

You can use the motion tool or the transform tool. I’m not adept enough
yet myself to know really the pros and cons of each.

Rough steps (I’m no expert, so bare this in mind!):
1. Set your background scroll on a layer.
2. Move your background scroll to it’s 'start location.'
3. Create a keyframe where you want it to start scrolling (say frame 100).
4. Create another keyframe where you want it to stop scrolling (say frame 1000).
5. Using the motion or transform tool, now drag your background scroll to the 'end location.'

This should work. There are other ways of doing this, but this is the most direct way
I know of at the moment.

Luck!

Hi.
If you want cycle a background, You can proceed step by step as follows:
1 - In drawing mode, draw a picture of the overall width of the frame. Copy and paste drawing object. Paste the copy on the right side of the original design… Correct the union between drawings so that there are no line or color breaks.
2 - In camera mode, create a peg that contains the picture and create two successive keyframe. Extend the drawing exposure two frames.
3-Turn on onion skin, one previous frame.