Scaling in Drawing View

Hi everybody on this forum,

I am new to TBS (4.0 on an intel Mac) and to animation as well. I have been drawing cartoons for several years now. But now I’d like to do my first animation - a photo cutout clip. So the learning curve is rather steep for me.

There has been a quite informative posting on “Scaling drawings in drawing view” already (http://www.toonboom.com/support/forums/toonBoomStudio/index.php?board=15;action=display;threadid=3323), which helped me understand the difference between Select and Transform Tool a bit better. I always try to build my drawings within the former, then switch to the latter to start animating, only using my drawing tools to refine or retouch my drawings when necessary. Problem is, I am working with very detailed, high res multilayered photography. So, if I import and vectorize, they are really HUGE. (They have to be, since I zoom in on them closely) E. g. my hero’s head is about 4 times the 12-field grid height. Zooming out so I can see the whole character on my 20" display, the grid, which I use to insure all the relations and proportions are correct, shrinks down to a black point.
On the other hand, my character consists of quite many layers (left eyebrow, rigt eyebrow, upper lip, lower lip, cheek, nostrils etc.). Therefore, I cannot just use the Drawing Select tool and scale my character’s head down to grid size. It would be impossible to scale all the other layers with exactly the same amount.