Requesting Better License Management for Animators on the Go.

I’m a professional animator that works both in a studio using my own license for Harmony Premium, along with at home. Occasionally, I may move around on a laptop.

It’s been a real historic issue for me to get Harmony working when I need it for either situation.

In order for me to move my workload from my workplace to my house, I have to manually send the license back to the license server, and then retrieve manually in my house.

Now, this probably would just be an inconvenience, if it wasn’t for the fact that if you send the license back ‘n’ forth a couple times, the license locks restricting me from doing last minute work at home and requiring me to either drive to the studio on a Sunday to work on it, or literally beg Toon Boom support for a temp license.

Obviously, I understand that Toonboom needs to make money, and doesn’t want me to install the program on a bunch of computers so I can have an entire team of people working from one license. I’m not requesting that.

But maybe, if possible do one of the following:

1. Have Toonboom do a license check whenever you boot up the program, if the license is being used, you can prevent it from working.
  2. Do the Adobe solution where you limit the license on 2 computers. Automatically log out of a computer if you install it on another.
  3. Add a huge watermark over any kind of output from a computer that previously had the license, but is currently not holding it.
  4. Give a computer that previously had the license a 1 or 2 day window to be used. Maybe even with the watermark.
  5. At the VERY LEAST, eliminate the transfer limit, if every other thing is too much trouble to do. I would be more than happy for just this solution.

This has been, really, the only real problem I have with Toonboom Software, and if Support remembers, I’ve called them more than once to unlock a transfer limit, or give me a temp license in the midst of a crisis.

Hi!