Re:rookie question

Thanks Nolan. Actually I’m not a novice animator, I just put the bouncing ball example in there as a reference for folks to understand the problem, if that makes any sense. If I put a ball in frame 1, squash at 30 and extreme at 60, when I do the preview all the frames in between come up as blank.

There must be a toggle somewhere to make frames hold by default so you can figure out timing, right?

so i’m doing the bouncing ball exercise. i put the first key on frame 1, the squash at the bottom at say 35, and the top of the cycle at 69. When i play the preview to check the timing it just blinks, playing frame 1 then 34 frames of nothing, then frame 35, the 35 frames of nothing then frame 69. this makes it obviously impossible to see to check the timing. How do i set it to do blocking, that is, in the preview, have the frames hold over the blank areas and not play blank frames in between? Obviously there must be a preference for this or something, like Flipbook. I just can’t find it.

thanx!!

Well, not sure, which Bouncing Ball Exercise you’re referring to…?

Please, have a look at JK’s excellent “Key-framing the Bouncing Ball” Tutorial:
http://www.tallgrassradio.com/toonboom/2008/10/keyframing-bouncing-ball.html

Otherwise, If you like, check out this Video Bouncing Ball demonstration:
http://web.mac.com/nolan.scott/Gallery/Bouncing_Ball.html
(no sound, it’s all fairly simple and self-explanatory)
(if you like, you might use the Transform Tool (7) for the squash and stretch)

Part two:
http://web.mac.com/nolan.scott/Gallery/Bouncing_Ball_2.html

Be aware those Videos are about ~ 30 MB…
They might need a moment to load…

Regards
Nolan

Right-click on keyframe, choose “Set non conctent segment”

//KAllis

Thanks, Kallis. For me, this didn’t change anything. The inbetweens still came up blank. Am I doing it wrong? (I’m on a Mac)

Right click in your timeline…extend exposure! I hope that could help!

Thanks dopski -