Re:Animate vs Studio

Missing Feature in TB Animate:
Import files form TB Studio and Animationsh into TB Animate.
Please, add the missing import-tool, so that a switch to TB Animate will be easier. :slight_smile: Thanks!

I was just about to buy Toon Boom Studio when suddenly Animate came popping out of nowhereā€¦ I have no experience in animation, so Studio seemed like a good startā€¦ Now Iā€™m concidering to just go for Animate insteadā€¦ Is this a bad or good idea? (Iā€™m not gonna make crappy 3-year-old cartoons, but more serrious stuffā€¦) Anybody??? ???

Animate is so much better then Studio. Iā€™ve been playing with the learning edition of Animate since about 2:00 this morning and Iā€™m already in love with it. I just upgraded from Studio 4 to 4.5 recently and now I wish I had waited.

j.

I remember reading a post on this site that the two programs are different and coming from two different teams. That makes sense because it appears that Animate can read Digital Pro files. So Animate seems to be more a streamlined Digital Pro rather than an enhanced Studio.

For people looking to import older or in process Studio and other files perhaps something can be worked out. In my case it isnā€™t an issue and the timing worked out just right that I donā€™t need to worry about importing.

Im very happy they use the toonboom way for applying effects directly in timeline. And that they added the main effects people use from digital pro. Get straight to the point i really like that! Very cool right there

Im not too sure I like the new way the brush size palette ( tool property) looks and works though. I think the old way in toonboom and even digital pro was much better.