Question about animation?

Ok I’m a highschool student, Junior, and I would like to know something. I love animation but if I wanna see it as a career, I would like to know if there are many jobs available in animation. If I were to go to a college and get a bachelors degree in animation where would that get me?

If your a high school student in China or India then animation should be a good career for some time. In the US you may have some problems. A few years ago, in the US animation was on the top a great place to be. Then the major animation companies decided to outsource to Asia and close animation facilities in the US, France and Japan.

Now if you notice the trend in major features, as well as TV, more and more animation is moving 3D. Much of the traditional 2D animation is done in Korea, China and starting in India. Traditional TV animations like Scuby Doo originate in the US with storyboard, layout, planning, and some keyframeing. This is then packaged up and sent to Asia for animation and finally compositing.

The one place I think other forms of animation may have for US animators is via the web. Web based animations and HOPEFULLY short iPod animation can be created by smaller animation companies and even individuals. Tools like TBS are an essential key to this move. Now if we can convince Apple that new animation shorts have an iPod market we may ALL benefit.

Also if you do go to Animation school pick a GOOD one. I personally think Canada has one of the best, but there are many in the US (many in Los Angles, etc).

I would love to see an animation consortium that would allow independents to work through to sell product to non traditional animation venues, the web, iPod, Portable video players, etc.

this is a very interesting discussion :slight_smile:
i also think the future for ‘standalone’ animators is in short forms.