puppet assembly

I followed the instructions on the kickstart videos and the manual to make a puppet. They tell you that it’s best to construct the puppet and put the different angles (say like a 5 point turnaround) on the next frames. I get that this would be great to increase speed in animation, but I’m having a problem where if I put the arm layer under the hair layer in the hierarchy on one view, then they may be in the wrong order on another view.

If I make an adjustment to the arm position on one view, it affects all the other views. The pivot points are all thrown off too, even when I uncheck the tool property “Set the Pivot for Symbol on all frames.” It moves them on the other frames anyway!

Am I doing something wrong or have other people run up against these issues using this prescribed method?

Hello, I’m new to Animate too but maybe I can lend you a little help. I apologize in advance if I can’t, or if I totally misunderstood your question.:stuck_out_tongue:

Have you tried moving the hierarchys by manipulating Z-depth?

The Heirchys of the layers themselves don’t matter like they do in … well just about any other program. Animate has this Z-depth thing that is going to hit you over the head with a Brick! :o .

Check out this video http://vimeo.com/3360406, Fast Foward to 35:00, where he starts talking about how to actually do it.

Just note that when I first tried it I had to hit that plus button next to Offset path ( I think it is) to bring up the z-depth

Hope that helps, once you learn that, you’ve caught to my level. :’(