Problem rendering 2D/3D crashing in Windows 7 64bit and OSX

I am using a MacPro early 2009 8 core 2.26ghz, 26GB of RAM and an nVidia Quadro 4000 running OSX 10.6.8 plus an HP Z800 12 core 2.44ghz 24GB of RAM and a nVidia Quadro 4000…Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit…I have increased the page files for Windows.

Both systems have problems with memory and/or VRAM while rendering Maya2012 *.osb files in Harmony 9.2 Stand Alone.

With OSX I can render over 70% and it simply stops rendering. In Windows 64bit if I get past the first 20 frames I am ok BUT the Harmony app window flashes and yesterday I had a nVidia Quadro kernel crash after resizing the Harmony window. I have found that reducing the Harmony window size decreases the number of crashes or other problems. In Windows when rendering with Maya I am using at times 100% of the 12 corse.

I am self taught in using Maya and Harmony. Therefore I suspect that I am not optimizing my 3D files and/or attempting to do too much.

However, I can have problems with rendering to movie with simple forms and not much else going on in Harmony stage.

Has anyone else had a problem? Anyone got a troubleshooting list I can check off?
I am self taught so I suspect I am mucking something up.