please clarify line art and color art layers

Please help me understand the purpose of having line art and color art layers. In the TB tutorials (Pack 5 Adding Colour), it appears a lot of the painting is applied to the line art layer. In Ch. 24, the tutor is covering separating line and color art layers and demonstrates how to do so, but she doesn’t explain why. She is able to paint and edit areas all on the line art layer throughout the tutorials. I can kind of understand that keeping color and line art separate from each other could be desirable, but I haven’t been successful in performing the separation to match the tutorial’s results. My color art layer looks like an emaciated stick figure. The only reason for a color art layer seems to be to be able to see (and edit) the color areas without the line work. Is there a purpose I am missing?

Does Toon Boom recommend painting on the color art layer and keeping the line art layer for outlines?

I’m new to this and using Animate2. I very much appreciate any input from y’all.

Thanks,

Michelle

Mostly there isn’t a recommended way but multiple methods. So both approaches are fine, it is a matter of what suits you.

Personally I would recommend not using unless you have a reason to use. Just adds extra complexity.

I’m not exactly sure what you’re doing wrong but the line art / color options worked perfectly for me. The purpose for separating the original line art from color is so that you can use the line art for fill shapes while keeping your inking separate. Basically you are using shift + clicking on the configure line art to color art button to make a duplicate version of your line art under the original.