Pieces disappearing

Question from a Toon Boom Pro newbie here - I’ve been following along with the tutorials and they’ve been quite thorough and helpful with the whole process, but I ran into a bit of a problem. For some reason my character (which I was attempting to puppet rig) is having troubles being saved as a symbol. I followed along pretty much exactly what was happening in the tutorials (changed slightly because the character is a different shape of course, but the gist of it I thought was the same) - but when I went to create a symbol from it, it was missing its eyes and the head layer was showing up weird, as you can see in the preview mode:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v305/auilix/trouble01.png
Not sure why it automatically calls it “fox neck”, i do select everything on the stage, not just the neck.

I tried duplicating it and then using that but it didn’t work either. I’ve seen a couple of things online regarding this but nothing seemed to have a definite answer. I thought I could work around it, but now as I’m working with things in perspective, it keeps coming up like this.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v305/auilix/trouble02.png

I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong or how I can fix it, and I don’t want to start over…
???

Sorry if this is a silly question. Thank you for any and all help!

First of all if you want to do a rig I would not create a symbol because a symbol resides only in the present scene. If you want to reuse your character in another scene you should create a template not a symbol.

Second the name given to a symbol or template (tpl) is the name of the first element at the top of your Timeline. Since there are many layers to your rig it suggest that name but you can always rename it anything you want.