Pencil and brush strokes not rendering in real time.

I’m a student who just recently started the trial period for Toon Boom Harmony Essentials, and am having issues with the basic tools. On both a mouse and graphics tablet (wacom Intuos) the pencil and brush tools aren’t working as they should. The lines I draw are invisible until I release the mouse button or lift the pen from the tablet, making them incredibly frustrating and almost unusable for any actual drawing. Searching up the issue hasn’t been helpful as most posts are from years ago and their fixes refer to menus and options which I can’t find: possibly which have been moved or renamed since. Other drawing and editing programs on this computer such as Adobe Photoshop work fine.

I’m using Windows 7, 64-bit, with an Intel Q45/Q43 Express Chipset.

Thanks

Edit: This seems to be happening with most tools, not just the pencil and brush. Any kind of change is only visible once the mouse button is released. The work screen also goes black when play is pushed, rather than displaying the animation of the frames when in camera view. In drawing view it displays the first frame only when play is pushed, though I believe this is to be expected.

You are correct in that the drawing view does not display animation. It is more or less a room to draw in or a table top to draw upon. As in real life the animation is done with a camera except in this case it is a virtual camera.

Your workscreen may be appearing black because you have not added any objects in the scene that are in color. I have no way to know yet but this is a common mistake encountered. By default a rendered scene is black. People draw black lines and wonder why they don’t see anything in a rendering.

Have you used color on anything in your scene?