No option to vectorize in colour

Hi,
I am new to Toon Boom and going through the tutorials using the advanced module of Toon Boom. I tried to import and vectorize the .png provided in the tutorial (mountain hike and bush) but there is no option under imports to vectorize in colour as the video is showing. Only black, gray scale and new present. Am I missing something? I created a new preset and selected ‘Output colour as texture’. The result was in colour but I got a prompt that one of the colours was not been recognised (surprisingly this was the white colour) and whether I would want to recreate it. When i selected yes it created an unsightly patch in the image. Any guidance would be very appreciated :slight_smile:

I don’t know to which version the video you were watching refers to, but I think that between version 10 and 11 of Harmony the interface changed the import/scan options. Before, import options included under vectorization “black & white”, “grey”, and “colour”. But now - since version 11, apparently -, the import options are separated in Keep as Original Bitmap, Import as Toon Boom Bitmap Drawing, and Convert to Toon Boom Vector Drawing. You would use this last option to vectorize animation layers, converting them to black lines or retaining their greyscale texture. To import colour drawings, such as backgrounds, you should choose one of the first two options. The results are very similar, but Keep as Original Bitmap won’t allow you to edit the image in Harmony.

Luis Canau

I choose “Convert to Toon Boom Vector Drawing” then I click on the pencil next to the + -.
Then in the “Vectorization Parameters” display, check “Color as Texture”

I used the option to import as Toon Boom Bitmap with the Alpha set to “Straight.” It worked fine to retain color and didn’t affect the tutorial. I know vector will have a purpose later on, but this new version does fine with a “Toon Boom Bitmap” vs a regular bitmap. I’ll revise this if anything changes!

Good evening,