Newbie: Help setting up sequence.

Hello:

I’m new to Animate 2. (in the process of leaving Flash behind)

How would you (the experienced users) animate the following, single scene, 10 second gag. This is not a “How to animate a body part” question, it’s more about “set-up” or the use of “nested symbols”, etc.

1. Character A right side of screen, sitting at desk, humming a tune while typing.

2. Character B walks in from left to center, stops, says some dialogue.

3. Character C says some dialogue. (punchline)

Would you animate each character, with audio, lip syncs, etc. then save as a symbol, then bring those separate symbol out into the camera, and then space those symbols apart as needed for timing?

Or,

Animate the whole scene straight up from start to finish all in one shot?

In Flash, since I have one character walking I would SYMBOL that charactrers head, inside do all the lip sync, head stuff. Then come back out and animate the walk cycle and save the whole thing as a symbol (movie clip) position the clip off stage. Then in another symbol (movie clip) animate the character at the desk doing THEIR thing, then position IT into the scene and I’m done.

Does this way of doing things translate the same into ANIMATE 2? Just different terminology?

I REALLY appreciate everyone’s advice on advance.

Thanks.

Dave

Anyone? Anyone? Beuler?

Lilly? The Raider?

Personally I don’t really use symbols at all.

In Animate there is no real need for them IMO.

Thanks, The Raider.

So, I guess you are saying just animate straight ahead both characters in the scene?

Hi iamdj
Open new project and set scene length.
I would import the sound. Best is no effects. That is especially if you want to use automatic lip_sync.
One or more audio clips depends on how you want to do your lip-sync.

Then in the x-sheet add annotation layer and write in the dialogue and in out points. To do this work turn on sound and sound-scrubbing in the top menu
-play- sound (and sund-scrubbing).