Newb looking for direction, input.

Hi

I’m a total newb here. I just received TB4 in the mail. I am already intimidated. While poking through the tabs and tools I created a character. I loved how it worked, but I can’t imagine using a mouse to draw with. I’ve heard of the tablets but don’t know anything about them. Which ones are best, which ones to stay away from, which ones are the smartest buy for a hobbyist?

I have several goals. First just basic. Perhaps an animated logo slate. Then a 10-15 short clip with a punch line. Eventually I want to make a series of shorts (about a minute long). I have a few original stories (more than 5 minutes) that I’d love to animate if I can master the software.

I guess the thing I need the most is which direction should I head first? I have two computers. The one that TB4 is on is intentionally NOT on the internet. Is it possible to access the tutorials on a second computer?

Any opinions will be appreciated. Also, we are all artist of one stripe or another. Most artists like to have their work looked at. How about post a link to any animations that you have done with this software.

Again thanks.

Joseph

of Team Joseph & Ian

Hello,

YOu may want to look at the consumer range from Wacom. Wacom being the most well known tablet company.

www.wacom.com

Also take in account tablet sizes etc.
I am not a tablet efficiendo though :slight_smile:

I myself has a humble Graphire 4, which is rather basic compared to something like the intous or something like that, but it good for a newuser etc.

Thanks Pat
I’m going to check that out.

Hopefully you will get a great deal of feedback here as there should be plenty of forum readers with experiences to share and opinions to give.