New to Toon Boom

So i am new to computer animation and I am okay but not the best artist. I saw on the website these really well done animated movies…For example the movie POP with the rooster and the fox… was that all done on the computer or did he draw it out first and then scan it into the computer…I just want to know if its possible to do all this really cool artwork all on the computer?

Totally digital or partially digital both work equally effectively. It’s a matter of personal preference and practice and comfort level.

You need at a minimum a Wacom tablet if you want to go totally digital.

The important consideration is that quality animation is not a function of the tools or software but rather the artist.

Any form of art has a learning curve and a skill level achievement associated with it. Roll up your sleeves, be patient and persistent, and don’t expect to be great overnight. Just try to make each project a little bit better than the previous project and eventually you will achieve your desired results. Instant gratification is highly overrated and achievement thru practice and hard work is much more satisfying.

If you have a single coin you can’t buy much, but if you add another coin on to your pile each day, over time you will build a valuable pile of money. Most achievements are like that, you just have to be willing to stack up coins over time. -JK

COMPLETELY agree with JK!

I teach introductory animation at a local community college and 90% of the students come to class honestly thinking the computer is going to make everything ‘beautiful’ for them. It’s doesn’t work like that - the computer is only a tool, like a big fancy hammer. In broadcast news we had a saying ‘garbage in, garbage out’. Meaning, the project will look exactly as good as how much effort you put into it. I’ve been animating professionally for about 2 years now and I still get frustrated with the quality of my work - but I know it’s much much better than when I first started.