New to Toon Boom - Suggestions with what to get?

Hello,

I was recommended to Toon Boom 2-3 years ago by a co-worker and it’s been a while saving up for new computer and software but I think I finally have enough to invest, especially with the 60% Off Sale going on right now!

I studied traditional hand-drawn animation a long time ago just as the industry had been evolving to digital animation, and so I haven’t had much experience using Photoshop/Illustrator/After Effects as much as I like, but I do have some basic experience with those mentioned. Never used Flash before. I was told that Toon Boom is a great animation and would be helpful in making the transition from traditional hand-drawn to digital for me. I studied and worked with the old fashioned techniques so I don’t.consider myself a beginner, and so I was looking towards Animate and Animate Pro as a place to start.

I believe the way I learned it was frame-by-frame animation, basically the way the old Disney artists did things. I have little experience with cut-out animation but I understand it and have tried it, but haven’t used it much because I’m used to squash and stretch and other techniques where I could draw it rather than type in numbers or click and drag things to animate, so animating cut-outs seemed a bit frigid for me, but that doesn’t mean I can’t learn it and get better with more practice. I read that Animate was for frame-by-frame and Animate Pro was for cut-out, but I have also read that with Animate Pro, you can also do frame-by-frame PLUS better cut-out, which would make sense since it is almost double the price. I was wondering if someone knew if that were true, because it would make sense investing in the product with the same options PLUS more wouldn’t it? Otherwise if they are indeed separate programs for different styles, maybe it is best to stick with Animate?