Need help selecting Toon Boom Product

Hi,

I’m a game designer, and I currently use Toon Boom Studio 8.1. I’m relatively satisfied with it, though I’m thinking of upgrading. Looks like Harmony is the way to go nowadays, but I’d like some help deciding which version. I’ve read the comparison chart on this website, but I still have some questions.

My animation style is cartoony and intricate (see main image here for an idea: http://www.volnaiskra.com/ ). I primarily use raster images from Photoshop, though I may also use Illustrator vectors (but only if all main features such as gradient maps can be imported). Some of my characters are soft and squishy, so hard bone movements aren’t enough: I need the ability to deform raster images with subtlety.

I suppose I’m mainly tossing up between Advanced and Premium, though Premium is very expensive for me - I’m a solo indie game developer. OK, here are some questions I have:

1. Is the interface much different between Advanced and Premium, in terms of simplicity/complexity? And how alien will they be for a Toon Boom Studio user?

2. What is the node view?

3. What are curve/envelope deformers - will I need that for my soft and squishy raster animations?

4. Apparently only “Premium” has a particle system. Really? Even Toon Boom Studio has a particle system. Does “Advanced” at least have a basic version like that?

5. The performance of Toon Boom Studio is pretty mediocre. I have a fairly beastly PC (i7-4770k overclocked, two GTX Titans, SSDs, and 32GB RAM, Windows7-64), yet the software quickly gets sluggish, even with only moderately complex animations. Will I experience a big performance benefit with Harmony? Does it use multiple CPU cores? SLI? CUDA?

6. What is OpenFX? Do I want it?