Moving elements

I’m new to this, and working through the two legged animation workout.

My problem is, I cant get the Shift/arrow key to move any of my elements.

I have the “transform” tool selected, so that’s not the problem, any ideas anyone of where I could be going wrong?

I’m using version 4 of the software.

Well, select the Camera-View / select either the Select-Tool (6) (no keyframes)
or if you would like to set keyframes, choose the Transform-Tool (7).

Select your object in the Viewport (click on it) /
(always tick on your object in the viewport to make it active,
otherwise the arrow-keys wont work).

Now hit the arrow keys - you will see your object slightly moving /
hold down the shift-key and your increments getting bigger.

Cheers
Nolan

Thanks for replying Nolan, I followed exactly what you had written, after 4 attemps I got my object to move, but further tries later on got me nothing again…could there be a slight glitch in the programme? it’s not that it’s a complicated move that I could be missing a step on.

Well, I am really not sure if there could be a “slight glitch in the program” -
but one never knows… (what are your program- and system-specifications ?).

Be aware if you select a colour, or work in the timeline, the viewport becomes inactive,
please make sure that you always have to give your object in the viewport a mousetick again, to make that view active again.

Cheers
Nolan

Hi Nolan

I’m using windows XP on a Toshiba aptop, 1gb Ram.

I tried again to move the object, which in this case is a donkey, I selected the trannsform tool, I highlighted the peg for the donkey, I then clicked on the camera icon in the window, then hit the arrow keys…nothing…

Then I tried clicking the view window, and repeating the process, still no joy .

Is there any other way to achieve this, apart from the funtion editor?

Cheers,

Marples

Well, I am running out of ideas…

Check Tools / Turn Peg only Mode - switch it off.