More Drawing Tool Options

Although I’m just getting started with TBS I really enjoy the program. The only thing that would make me happier is having one or two more types of drawing tools to choose from. For example, Illustrator has several brushes that create a bit more of a natural look. The variable-thickness brush line in Toon Boom is great, of course, but perhaps some kind of “grainy”-type slider could be added to the pen property options in addition to min/max line width and smoothness? Or is there some way to achieve this that I haven’t discovered yet?

Ron

why, you can create and edit your own additional brushes with a ‘+’ button (tab ‘pen’, properties window).
rob

Hi, Ron-

I know what you mean. When Rob suggests you create your own pen, I will say that it’s one of the reasons I prefer Toon Boom to Flash–I can create a much more personal “pen line” with Toon Boom’s property options.

But, like you, I do wish we could get an actual “graphite” pencil line and a simulation of the kind of line I get with my Pelikan 120, flexible nib fountain pen when I’m drawing on Arches Cold Press watercolor paper. I guess as the vector drawing tools go, Toon Boom offers a good compromise, but it still has its limitations.

Toon Boom was the first animation software I ever used and it took a lot of practice to get comfortable with the vector line and using the Wacom tablet/stylus. I’m still not entirely at one with the tablet, but I’ve come pretty far.

If you’re interested in seeing an animation I whipped up to test out the Mac Version 3 when it first came out using the Wacom to get my loosey-goosey style vector line, go to the Toon Boom Showcase and click on Cartoon Animations. Mine is the second one down called “Monkeybone”. It’s simple, but I was pretty much pleased with the line quality. Considering.

You can compare that vector line with my hand-drawn pen line by going to my website and viewing my “Little Green Monkey” animation: