More about podcasting

first off, if you haven’t already, and you’re thinking about podcasting, read the article on how to create a basic podcast:
http://www.toonboom.com/products/eLearning/articles/article_iPod.php
This makes it very simple and easy to get started.

The second step I found, thanks to Will (Calicomonkey) was to use something like Feedburner. I have no idea what to call this thing, and I’m still learning how to use it, but this helps track your feed as well as check that it’s working right, provide widgets (not sure abou that word, either…) etc.

For setting up an Itunes feed, the .xml layout is a little different. There’s a sample and explanations at http://www.apple.com/itunes/store/podcaststechspecs.html. Again, this makes it easy. Set up the file, then check it with feedburner (or whatever) for errors. Also helps to have a 300x300 image for display.

then you submit to Itunes through the Itunes store, wait a day or two, and see if they accept your feed. They took mine. I’ll let you know how that works for me. I’m optimistic, but not sure what will cause people to find it at Itunes.

check it out at
http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=219954667

Rob, best of luck with it, I’m very anxious to see how this works out for you. I am very interested in broadcasting to mobile devices once I actually have a body of work…

Also, if you come up with any creative ways to get your stuff found on searches & such, please let us know. If I think of any ideas I’ll be sure to share them as well.

A little update.

I’m still not a “featured” podcast, but I can be found through searching for biker podcasts at Itunes.

It might be from word of mouth, but I’ve managed something between five and nine subscriptions a day, with around 60% of them being from Itunes users. Who these subscribers are I have no idea, but it’s a start. I’ve noticed as well some users in my stats with PSP downloading it also.