Lookout - it's a newbie - basic questions

Hi, I’m a newbie to Toon Boom Animate, and yeah… I should probably read the user guide more closely but I have a couple of quick questions I’m sure you experts can answer – and probably have many times…. So sorry for that. I mostly work in Flash and am still getting my head around animate.
I’m creating an animated series something in the style of Family guy or The Simpsons and am importing a lot of Flas SWFs that I have to fix up in Animate.
1) In my initial attempts I have used the NTSC format – if you plan on pitching this stuff at TV or similar is this the way to go or can someone suggest a universal “we expect it in this format” resolution?
2) The tutorial videos say you can change the resolution on a scene you’ve already created in the scene settings tab (under scene) but nothing seems to happen. How do I know the format has been changed?
3) And this is the dumbest question I guess – but how do I join the scenes together, given that they may have different named (and number of) layers – or is this done when it’s rendered? If so – how?
Any advice would be welcome
Thanks,
Chris

Hi Chris

1) Pass (Bear in mind that you can change the format of a movie to meet a particular requirement)
2) To see changes to resolution export the movie. To test, export a low definition version of a small sample and then an HD version of the same sample.
3) There’s many a post about this. The options as I see them:-
a) Make a template of each scene and bring the templates together in a single project
b) Buy a third-party video editor (may not work if your target in *.swf)
c) Buy Adobe CS use this as a editor (expensive and is aimed at *.swf)

Hope this is of some help.

Bob