Lip syncing

I have been putting animated clips together for a couple of months now, and the one constant pain I’ve been having to deal with is connecting audio to a character’s mouth on their rig… often times I have to record sound clips for a single character and import them one by one… but what I’m having to do is create multiple “mouth elements” for each of my characters in order to lip sync to each individual track. Is this the only way to do it? I have tried to use the same rig mouth element for a character for all of my audio clips (for that character), however, the software doesn’t seem to allow this. Which really sucks because with each new mouth element (sometimes I have up to ten or more) for a single character, I have to recreate the mouth forms on each new mouth element. So instead of having the capacity to do all of the dialogue for a character on a single mouth element, I am relegated to having several mouth elements for a single character and then having to recreate the mouth forms for each one. Is there a way around having to do this?

Idealy I would like to have all dialogue for one character be on a single (mouth) element for that character’s rig.

Thanks

Well, not sure, if I understand everything correctly…?

Let’s create one character with one mouth-element, containing the 8 phoneme: a-b-c-d-e-f-g-x… (staying with the default names)… otherwise choose your own…

Either duplicate this character a few times, or import from your Library, or create your own, Studio will name all those mouth-elements individually - e.g. mouth - mouth1 - mouth2 - mouth3…etc… (or keeps the assigned name)…

In your Sound-Editor record and cut your sound-file for each of your characters and save…
Import those sound-files (as many as characters) into Studio…
or use Studios Sound Element Editor for importing and resizing soundfiles…
Move them into your start-position (Change Start Frame) and assign them individually to your characters (Modify Lip Sync Mapping)…