Line Scale

Hi all,

I have been using TBS for a few months now and enjoy the software immensely. My question pertains to line scaling. Is it possible to scale down an item (ie door) without the lines remaining at the original size? I’ve drawn background items such as trees and when I shrink these down ready for placement in the scene, the lines (which make up the object) are too big.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

hi,
this was one of the wishes for the next release. look in the ‘suggestions for tbs’ section.

but the lines are scaling, too. i’m currently not at a machine with tbs installed, i’ll check it at home.
cheers,
rob

Thanks for the update Gester. I’ve actually discovered a handy technique.

First of all, line thickness will shrink to scale if the brush tool is used.

Secondly, if the line, circle or square tools are used, these can be resized to whatever thickness you require by simply selecting and then changing pen min & max size in the properties window.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks for taking the time to post.

I’ve read this type of discussion on scaling before and I understand that some people have this on their future wish list, no offense Rob. But, the way that brush lines scale in the z direction is a simulation of physical reality and isn’t a bug or arbitrary choice in the software design. It is in fact a requirement of any animation software providing a replacement for what would optically occur. I’m not trying to create an argument, but rather just pointing out a reality, if you got your wish, the results would be negative and the work would suffer. -JK

jk,
i was referring to a real project situation where i had a train coming from far away. one of the next projects include a fist blow from the far, the victim being in 1st person’s view.