Keyframing symbol swaps problem

Hello,

I am new to Toon Boom, I have used Maya in the past. I have animate 2, not pro. Is there a way to key-frame all per frame, including symbol options?

Basically my work flow is as follows; I start with stop motion and just put in all the extremes one frame after another not working with timing yet. Then I add the breakdowns by adding frames in between my extremes (using the add exposure button). I think I am key framing everything before that new frame and after, so when I manipulate the puppet on that frame, nothing else should be affected, but that is not happening. Things in earlier frames are going wacky as well as after. This is mostly happening with the swapping of symbols. I swap for example frame 12 for symbol 8 over 1 and then everything around frame 12 that I key framed with symbol 1 for that body part becomes symbol 8. I can go and change frame by frame by hand but ooof, I must be doing something wrong.

How I think I am key framing everything is highlighting every layer in one frame column in the time line view at a time and hitting F6. The little black box appears on all the cells in the time line view per frame column.

So how do I key frame everything per frame, including symbol swaps? What am I doing wrong?

Thank you for any input. It is most appreciated.

Ash

Hmm, let me try and explain my problem another way. And you were right, I was thinking of symbols as I drawings which is part of my problem.

I put in some poses frames 1 and 2. Say for the left eye all the frames with the eye are open. I then, insert a frame, between 1-2, (I’ll call it 1.5 to be clear). In frame 1.5 I change the left eye to be closed, so I swapped the symbol number.

My problem is, frames 1 and 2 may change now to the closed eye but I didn’t want to change those two frames. How do I add a new exposure and change the symbols while not changing the symbols options on other frames?

Thank you.

Okay so I figured something out: