Is Toon Boom Studio Overkill for a Beginner to Learn Animation on?

So I am a complete beginner who’s never even touched an animation program. I have researched this a ton, and have of course read many forums discussing this very thing.

But my question is this, for a newbie like me who’s never animated…and isn’t really good at drawing, is Toon Boom Studio over-kill for someone who just wants to make funny, animated cartoons on Youtube? I would love to create something like How It Should Have Ended (HISHE).

So I’ve narrowed it down to TB Studio vs Anime Studio Pro.

When comparing Toon Boom to Anime Studio Pro, I definitely like the output of Toon Boom better. I love that old school, Ren and Stimpy look. (Although, Ren and Stimpy was made with Flash.)

But my concern with Toon Boom is that the learning curve is much steeper, and I’m more likely to give up due to frustration. (the frame by frame approach does sound intimidating.)

Anime Studio Pro looks to be more newbie friendly, to have me up and running more quickly…because of the bone rigging approach.

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody had a suggestion for a newbie like me who’s prepared to learn the principles and animation and drawing…and then get more into animation, but for fun. I don’t really have aspirations to work for an animation studio.

Thank you very much!

Personally, I wouldn’t say so…
Many years ago I started with “Moho” now called “Anime Studio Pro”…
Then went to Toon Boom Studio and now I am using Animate 2…
Waiting for the chance to upgrade to Animate Pro 3 very soon…

It might look like “overkill” at the beginning of your adventure into animation…
Developing your skills over time you might appreciate those extra features…

Whatever you choose, Toon Boom Studio, or Anime Studio Pro…
Both are exceptional powerful packages…

Doing “Frame by Frame” animation Toon Boom Studio would be still my favorite.

Download the Demos and look for yourself…