Is there a way that I can...

copy a frame without making all the frames do the same thing?

Copy your drawing, move to the desired frame and go to Edit > Paste New Object. This new image will look just like your original, but any changes you make to it will not affect the original.

Ron

Hi, I’m just getting started on TBS & I’m having the same problem, but edit > paste new object isn’t working for me. What I’m trying to do is make a ball move across the screen. I:

- copied the cell
- went to the next cell
- pasted the cell
- moved the ball over using the select tool

but then when I went to scrub through my animation, the object stayed in the same place! All I want to do is reposition my object in the next frame and have it stay there so it looks like the ball is moving when you play the animation.

I believe that you are confusing frames and cells. A frame is a specific position on your timeline. A cell is a drawing. There is only one occurrence of a specific frame. IE. There is only one frame number 5. But a cell can be used many times repeatedly by assigning it to be exposed at multiple frame locations. When you copy a cell and paste it to a new frame location, you aren’t creating a new cell you are just assigning the same cell to a new exposure, that new frame location. You are reusing the same cell on a different frame from the one on which you copied the cell. If you want to duplicate a cell you need to use the Duplicate Drawing command.

If you want to have a unique instance of a cell you don’t copy and paste the cell you duplicate the cell.

The easiest way to duplicate a cell is as follows.
(1) select the cell you want to duplicate in the exposure sheet or in the timeline.
(2) right click to open the context menu.
(3) select the “add exposure” command (keyboard short cut R)
(4) move to the frame where the added exposure was created and select the new exposure of your original cell.
(5) right click to open the context menu.