inch worm desparate newbie

I am new to TBA and am creating a math animation that involves an inch worm with some twenty segments that crawls along a ruler to assist our students with measuring skills. I am having difficulty with the crawl sequence, particularly learning how to tie all segments of the worm together so they will move in unison as the middle of the body raises and lowers to the ground. I assume the long way is to simply redraw each and every segment in each and every frame times a hundred! Is there a shorter way?

You can construct the worm as a cut-out character. Each body segment will be a separate drawing element. The body segments will then be “daisy chained” in a hierarchy created by pegging them. You will then use keyframed animation techniques to animate the worm. This is a bit advanced for a newbie, so you are going to have to do your homework and read up on keyframe animation and cut-out animation. There are tutorials available both through TBS eLearning , the ToonBoomTutorials website and through my Cartooning in Toon Boom blog (see link below).