Importing PNG and psd issues

Hi,
I am new to TBA and so far I am truly jazzed about its potential but I have two questions / issues.
1. I have made a character in photo shop and saved its parts as .png
when i import them singly or all at once they resize to fit the animation space.
Thus the characters foot will be as big as the chest etc. Is there a way to insure they import as vectors at their actual size? Or must I import them as bitmaps?
2. I use Adobe photoshop 7.0, it does groups but calls them sets. If I make my character and cut it up and put the parts in layers and then make sets from the layers they import beautifully as a symbol, but the parts are in the time line in a horizontal row and switch when I move the slider left or right.
To use the parts to build my puppet, do i copy them and paste them into new drawing layers in a vertical row? I would assume that if i do I need to arrange them in a hierarchy to set pivots and such? I have done them as layers in PS7 because when I import the whole character into TBA it seems to set it as a background. Nothing shows up in the draw window and it gives me the circle with a slash through it when I attempt to start cutting it up in the camera window… this why i went the png route mentioned above.

many thanks and sorry if these are stupid questions

Lily,
Thanks so much for your prompt response.
Just a quick clarification on the second part of your answer:
you said:
"In your photoshop file, select each layer and do a Ctrl+G to make it into a group."