importing images in Harmony

I just had to upgrade to Harmony from Animate Pro because I needed to send files for color to another studio. I’m new to both programs. When I was using APro I was able to follow the tutorials and import an image as a pan and it fit into the window with the sides extending just as I expected it to. Now in Harmony it keeps importing this same BG way beyond the edges of the camera in all directions. I’ve tried importing with all the different settings (vector, bitmap, symbol, etc) but the same thing. What am I doing different? I have a Mac and the very latest version of Harmony was installed this morning.

OK. I can see that it’s fitting to the drawing grid. That’s probably why it was working as a pan in Animate Pro and not in Harmony. Originally this project was using NTSC 4:3 ratio which fit the drawing grid. Now, however it’s been changed to HDTV, 16:9 ratio, I’m using Harmony and I’ve redone all my BGs and Layouts to accommodate.

BUT, I don’t see anywhere in the scene setting dialog box where I can set horizontal OR vertical fit. I have it set for HDTV, square pixels. Is there a way to change the drawing grid for HDTV? I’m doing an 11 minute traditionally animated film with 68 scenes, a number of them are pans. I’m importing layered Photoshop images. The non-movement scenes fit perfectly when I use the fit option, but I need to make the pan scenes work too. Most are horizontal pans, but there are a few vertical pans and at least one diagonal pan.

I think I solved the problem! In the scene setting box under alignment, I changed the units aspect ratio to 16:9 and voila! The drawing grid and my BG pan are now fitting to the top and bottom of the camera! Yippee!!

Now I hope this works when I get to a scene with a vertical pan … or that darn diagonal one.