Illustrator import color issues

I’m receiving Illustrator files from a designer that when I import them into Harmony, the colors are slightly off from the original file. I generally have to manually correct the color values, but this is time consuming. Additionally, when I import them, they’re generally rather large which throws the scale to previous items that have been imported. Again I have to manually scale all artwork down which is time consuming.

Any thoughts?

Just a guess, but is your original Illustrator file created as CMYK colors? I get that alot from designers where I have to convert things to RGB. But I’m pretty new to Harmony, so I’m speaking generally. Can you give me a file that you’re using and I can take a look at it? Maybe I can find a way to help simplify things.

Brian thanks for the reply. I feel like I shouldn’t hand off any files as the project is still under production. Sorry!

But yes its set to RGB and I believe it is not being color managed.

Another thing that’s strange is that I’ll create a an AI doc using the Film presets at the same stage size (1280x720) and when I import it into Harmony the image comes in tiny. This is a pain because the different elements and characters are built to scale in AI but then they come in tiny each time. Its hard to maintain proportional scale.

hmm…had the same problem with .swf files too, we had to experiment with our stage size in flash so that it comes in the right scale in TB.
I’d be interested how you solve this problem.

Have you tried playing around during import?
There is alignment options on the import images window.
Rules: fit, pan or project resolution

Last time I imported a png background and for some reason it came out tiny and i changed my alignment rules to project resolution and that works.