I have Toon Boom Animate: should I get Toon Boom Studio?

Hi,

I have a problem that has been bugging me for a few weeks. I am a novice animator and I recently purchased Toon Boom Animate, but I’m beginning to wonder if I made a mistake.

This is not because Toon Boom Animate isn’t any good - it’s almost too good. You see, I don’t have much free time to learn how to animate and I really want to be able to start actually making stuff as soon as possible. Plus, I’m not exactly technically minded. So quite a bit recently, I’ve found myself frustrated by not knowing how the program works yet and by the feeling that I can’t really get good results in the (very limited) time I have available.

I’ve started to wonder if maybe I didn’t get the wrong program. Should I have bought Toon Boom Studio in the first place? Would that allow me to get “up and running” so to speak much more quickly?

I thought I’d throw this rather odd question open to the community here and see if anyone had any thoughts.

personally, it didn’t take much for me to learn Toon Boom Animate. once i read the quick getting started guide i was ok to get going. the rest i learned while animating, mind you i am still clueless about certain functions and effects. whenever i get stuck i consult the user guide or ask here, then i go back to animating. so i am as well still learning.

i haven’t used Studio before so i can’t compare the two but if you are a tradigital animator, you would take much less time to learn Animate. if you intend, however, to animate cut out, then you will have to learn rigging and all that.

there are tutorials on the toonboom website that are very helpful, check them out.