How to make lines smooth like Flash in Harmony

Just recently I downloaded the free trial for Harmony Essentials and watched some of the tutorials on the Toonboom website. Coming from Flash, there were several things I didn’t like. I started drawing with the brush tool, and got annoyed very quickly. even with the smoothing turned to %100, any line I drew was very pixel-y and unattractive. Being so used to Flash, I expected the lines to automatically snap into place, and get rid of the pixel-yness. My other problem with Toonboom Harmony was that whenever I used my Wacom Intuos to draw inside the program, the lines are always quite laggy. I’m getting quite frustrated with the two problems I just mentioned, but I really want to stick with Toonboom. Does anyone know how to fix either of these issues? Thanks!

-Brendan

go to preferences and try different settings for Open GL and Render, make sure you are not using a textured brush or pencil to get smooth lines, to get the lines and vector points to snap in place make sure you have snap to contour, snap and align, snap to grid selected in the tool properties panel, you have to have the selection tool selected to set up this option, I have Premium so I don’t know what options for essentials you have which is less I presume, also make sure your hardware meets Harmonys specifications for running the software.

Hi, there are ‘smoothing’ options in the brush and pencil tools. Using the Pencil tool is your best option if you are looking for clean lines as this acts more like a single vector path, whereas the brush tool will create an outlined path which is harder to keep clean and gives a more hand drawn feel. If you press K this will toggle visually to show you how many points are being created, messing with the smoothness settings in tool properties should help you get the right took you are after. There are no ‘snap’ features as such but lines will certainly look neater the more you tweak the smoothness settings.