How do you do layers?

OK this is a complete newbie question as I am evaluating Toon Boom Studio. Now I am used to vector drawing and each is a layer.

For example, my base character would be 1 layer, the eyes another layer, mouth, etc. Any how I do not see where I can do this or I am missing something in the Tutorials and the User Manual.

In Toon Boom Studio there is drawing 1, 2, 3 etc. and I know how to get it to see the previous drawing. But is there a way to put my eyes on another layer and still see the previous base character?

When I add an element (i.e, eyes), I can’t see the base of my character so I know where to position them and make sure they are the right size.

Also how do you merge or group the different elements or layers. If the directions on in the User Manual, I’m definitely not see it.

Would appreciate someone pointing me in the right direction.

Thanks.

Judith

I’m also a newbie when it comes to Toon Boom and I maybe wasting your time with this post. I think you can select the “light table” option to see all layers at once! If this works for you let me know. I’m always looking for info…I’m only trying Toon Boom right now trying to see if I want to buy.

Goto: Views > Turn Auto LightTable on
Takecare

Hello Judith,

I’ve written a number of articles that I think you might find useful. Here are a few that might get you moving along.

Understanding Pegs

Creating a Cartoon In Toon Boom Studio

and I also have a TBS oriented blog listed in my signature at the bottom of this post called Cartooning in Toon Boom. Also you might get some insights from the thread I write in the Tutorials section of these forums called Tips and Tricks.

Now before your go off to read all that material, I’ll give you a couple of quick answers to your questions, but please read the articles as they are more detailed and have helped many users with TBS concepts.

Layers = Elements