How do I understand how to use this?

Folks,

First of all, I am NOT a troll. I am as sincere as can be. Yes, I happen to love Anime Studio, and work with it at least 30 hours a week, but that doesn’t mean I’m oblivious to the fact that, on the surface, TB Studio offers a ton more capability.

And I bought TB Studio 6 – paid full price (not even discounted). So it’s not like I don’t WANT to use it. But here’s my problem:

First of all, I am a computer professional with over 3 decades of experience in Windows, Mac, Linux and even DOS (for those of you who remember that). I used to program for a living and, after that, managed a group of programmers. The point is I’m not exactly a novice when it comes to using software, and I pride myself on being able to master just about anything I’ve tried in the last 40 years. But Toon Boom just has me stumped.

I watch the tutorial videos, I even read the manual (something I’ve never had to do with any other software, mind you) and the interface still continues to bewilder me. It just ain’t intuitive in any manner shape or form.

Even constructing a 3D character in Max or Maya (both programs I spent considerably more for) is 10 times easier than trying to rig a character in TB. I feel like I need a doctorate just to understand all the layers, pinnings and whatnot just to get a simple cutout going (something that, conversely, my eight year old grandson can do with ease in Anime Studio).

The reason I am making this plea to all of you for help is that I got the ad to upgrade to version 7 (good until the end of June) and, of course, I’m such a software whore (who spreads their wallet open for nearly anything) this time I’m trying to resist. I look at those robo-bone thingees or whatever they are called and think, “Hey, maybe they finally have rigging down to where a simpleton like me can understand it” but then I remember that I thought this a year ago and was still stumped.