How can I merge multiple animations from seperate files?

I’m new to Harmony and I’m in a little pickle. The team I’m working with is subcontracting character animation and I’m doing composite work, as well as background art & atmospheric animation. The team is uploading 5-8 second clips (each shot) each as their own files which I need to merge into a single file to properly compose a scene. I’ll be honest, I’m struggling to get all of these animations into 1 file. Harmony doesn’t seem to support opening multiple projects at once, so I can’t copy/paste everything on the timeline from one animation into another. These seems like a functionality that one would expect and should be there, but I’m just not seeing it. Any ideas?

Hi,

You definitively can open Harmony multiple times and copy/paste from one project to another.

You also can use templates in order to export and import animations:
https://docs.toonboom.com/help/harmony-20/premium/library/about-template.html

stefman,

Can you describe details of the workflow involved?

Opening more than one instance of Harmony has not worked.

Simple copy / paste has not worked.

There does not appear to be appropriate options in Export and Import to do it that way. Movie files yes but not project files.

I imagine, as you suggested, your participants could save their final contribution files as templates to be shared with other participants.

Perfectpencil, the only way I know of would be utilizing the Library. Participants would need to share specific folders with the master project participant who would paste those in a specific location to keep things properly organized then the master participant would navigate to a contributing participant’s folder so the content is available to the “master project.”

Hi,

sure. Here’s what I do.

Opening several instances of Harmony:
No special trick here. :slight_smile:
It just works. I’m on Windows and using Harmony 20 (but, it also already worked with previous versions).