Highlight and Tone FX interpolation

I am very new to using Animate 2. I have managed to figure out how to add both Highlight and Tone effects to a drawing. I like the look and the possibilities that these FX open up. But, it appears that these effects are not interpolated. Is it true that I will need to add all highlight and tone effects individually to every single frame in any animation using these effects? My searches of the forum did not yield any results regarding this question.

Hmmm… if you work frame by frame, then you might have to adjust the highlight/tone accordingly, either redraw, or keyframe the highlight/tone-drawing… creating new drawings as needed on the way…
If you work with cutout-animation, please have a look at the attached project-file:
(file has been removed)
If needed, create new drawings and manipulate those as well…

Regards
Nolan

Thanks for the very informative project file. I can see how the highlight/tone effects are well-suited and fairly easy to use with cut-out style animations.

I am trying to focus on using the frame-by-frame method. I knew it would be tedious. But essentially having to recreate all highlights and shadows with every frame (I already tried using keyframes with no luck) means I will have the opportunity to test just how much I really want to create my characters frame-by-frame.

Thanks again for your speedy and very helpful response.

because the highlights are wider more loose shapes you can definitly get away with not drawing all the frames and using morphing to fill in the missing frames and the default setting will be fine most probably.