Help With Creating A Key Poses Template

Hello!
I’m new to Toon Boom Harmony. Using Advanced 14. Used to animate in Flash.

I’m trying to build a template of key character poses.

I know if you draw an arm, and then draw a new arm on the new frame, that drawing substitution is saved and can be made into a template.

What I’d like to do, is be able to USE the arm I drew in frame one in frame two in a different position, WITHOUT having to draw the arm again, and have that show up in that new position, in the Drawing Substitutions.

For the life of me, I can’t get it to work.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Hey, sorry. I’ve gotten no replies so I’m kicking this.
Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Hi,

Usually a drawing layer (node) contains all art elements you create in it (drawings substitutions): in your case these 2 different arms.

Alternatively the drawing layer may have keys (animation keys for position and rotation, etc). So you can bring the same arm substitution f-1 and use the transform tool to place it where you need. That creates a new key (if you have pressed the “animate” button). Some times these keys are not in the drawing layer but in a peg, but the principle is the same.

All these keys won’t show up in the drawing substitution.

Imagine you have arms f-1 and f-2. If you want to have an arm like the f-1, but rotated as f-3 you can select f-1. Select “duplicate drawing” as f-3. Modify the drawing with the BLACK ARROW TOOL, NOT the transformation tool. and voila. Now you have 3 drawings in the substitution list. f-1 and f-3 the same but rotated.

However it is not very advisable to do this. It is much better to use keys.