Having trouble rigging the eyes and mouth

I’m new at this, and so far I’ve found no one else with my specific problem–lots of similar ones, but nothing actually like what I’m having–so I’m sure I must be missing something that other animators just consider common sense. I’m rigging my first actual character, and I’m following a tutorial on cutter and color-override to do the eyes and mouth. I’ve got the facial features all in a separate group in the network rig–the eyes, mouth, nose, brows, and a couple bits of hair that stay on the face.

My problem is that I need to make separate drawings for this, as far as I can tell. So I’ve got separate drawings for the teeth, tongue, and irises. When I put the drawings in to the facial features group, I connect the ports to the mouth and eyes so they have the proper hierarchy. This is where the trouble comes in. Every time I put teeth, tongue,and irises into this group and plug their pegs into the proper places, they turn invisible in the camera view that I’m drawing in, so even after I’ve done the trouble of plugging in the cutter module, I can’t actually see the teeth to test out if they cut properly.