Having trouble editing motion paths

Hello everyone. I’m just starting out on Animate 2, and ran into difficulty when editing motion paths. Perhaps there is something obvious I am missing?

The short of it is: I can’t seem to make motion paths curved.

After selecting a keyframe, the documentation states that one can then select the top-menu option, “Animation > Linear/Curve”. However, in my case the top menu only has the option, “Animation > Linear Motion”. There is no “Curve” option I can see.
The “Coord And Control Points” window always has the following options greyed out and unmutable: “Locked in Time”, “Tension”, “Continuity” and “Bias”. I can move the keyframes around when editing a motion path, but can not alter any of the parameters mentioned above. Further, pressing “P” does not add a control point, as the documentation states it should.

This is all while in the camera view, with the “Animate” and “Transform” buttons selected (and its “peg selection mode” DEselected.) I have tried this both on an animated drawing as well as on an animated symbol, with the same observed problems.

This is using the Windows version of the application. Build 7.9.0 (6015) (2010-09-15 03:47:49)

Thank you to anyone who can provide any help

you need to go into layer properties for the peg (or drawing) and enable 3D path.

Thank you TheRaider, that’s what I was missing. =)

On a related note, if I have already built an animation in a layer with its position property set to “separate”, and then I switch it to instead be “3D Path”, the old animation is lost (well, it’s still there if one switches back to “separate” of course.) I can understand unique tween information getting lost in the conversion, but is there a way to at the very least preserve the object’s transformations at the shared key frames when switching between “3d path” and “separate”?
Thanks again.

Well, the answer appears to be in the documentation:
“You have to lock or unlock your functions before starting