Harmony Essentials 14: Is it possible to create deformation chain with custom constraints/hierarchy?

I’m having trouble deforming some text. I’m pretty new to Toon Boom so I’m probably just unaware how to do it correctly, so any help/advice would be much appreciated.

I want to be able to deform this text in such a way that the top and bottom are constrained/parented to the center.

If you refer to the included images, I want to be able to “curl” that closing bracket highlighted in pink by moving the upper and lower deformer pegs. So far, I’m only able to set it up as shown in the first picture. A parent deformer peg on the bottom, with a child joint in the middle and a child peg at the top. I can use the upper most child peg to curl the upper part of the bracket, however the parent node on the bottom moves the whole deformer chain (as opposed to moving just the bottom portion). I’ve tried creating the parent deformer peg in the middle and making separate child pegs on the top and bottom, but I can’t seem to get it to work correctly. I don’t really care much about parenting/the hierarchy in this context and realize I could probably create two separate deformer chains (one for the top and one for the bottom) but I’m really hoping that’s not necessary and that there’s a more intuitive way of doing this.

The second picture I’m hoping shows or kinda gives an idea of what I’m trying to do (within the context of how I think Toon Boom works). Essentially, I want to be able to bend/deform the upper and lower portions of the bracket around the center or better yet, simply be able to freely deform this object (like the puppet pin tool from After Effects) and the third picture shows the problem with trying to do it that way.

The fourth picture shows the problem with trying to make the base parent peg in the center and then trying to parent the upper and lower pegs to it separately.